Footbridge Awards Madrid Architects’ Association Headquarters (COAM) 07 September 2022 #footbridge2022


Projects must meet BOTH of the following criteria:

1. They must be for use ONLY for pedestrians and/or cyclists and/or equestrians.
2. They must have been opened to the public, or the renovation programme completed, between 1st January 2017 and 31st December 2019.

Awards will be made in up to SIX categories.

Short span: For new single or multi-span footbridges with a longest clear span of 30m or less.
Medium span: For new single or multi-span footbridges with a longest clear span between 30.1m and 60m.
Long span: For new single or multi-span footbridges with a longest clear span greater than 60m.
Movable bridges: For all types of new movable pedestrian or cycle bridges.
New life: Renovation, refurbishment, reuse or retrofit bridge project for the primary benefit of pedestrians, cyclists and/or equestrians. Please note that this category is open to crossings other than footbridges, eg road viaducts, but only where these have been altered with the main purpose of benefitting pedestrians/cyclists/equestrians, for example repurposing a rail viaduct as a pedestrian/cycling space. A highway bridge refurbishment project that includes the pedestrian walkway would not apply.cycle bridges.
The Jonathan Speirs Lighting Award: For a lighting scheme on a new or existing footbridge of any size. Created in memory of Jonathan Speirs of Speirs & Major.

The judging panel will be chaired by José María Sánchez de Muniáin, editor of Bridge design & engineering magazine, and will include international, independent experts. The judges will be given complete freedom in reaching their final decisions, but will take particular note of the following criteria:

• fitness for purpose
• value for money
• quality of design and construction
• innovation
• appearance, harmony with the environment
• efficient use of materials
• safety and security
• application of research and development results
• benefit to the community
• energy-saving measures
• life-cycle costs

Your entry should include the nomination statement: this should be in PDF format, on no more than FOUR A4 pages, including pictures. Payment by credit card will be required to finalise the process. See ‘How to enter’ for more details about content.