Footbridge Awards Madrid Architects’ Association Headquarters (COAM) 07 September 2022 #footbridge2022

The Footbridge Awards competition is now closed

Welcome to the competition website for Footbridge Awards!

Every three years the Footbridge Awards celebrate the engineering innovation, skills and designs behind the most inspiring footbridge projects around the world, not to mention the talented teams behind them. The search for the brightest and best has now begun. If you have a pedestrian/cycle crossing to shout about, Footbridge Awards is the place to share it with your peers.

As in previous competitions there are categories for short-span, medium-span and long-span pedestrian/cycle bridges, in addition to the Jonathan Speirs Lighting Award. New to Footbridge Awards are categories for movable bridges as well as a category covering renovation, refurbishment, reuse or retrofit bridge project for the primary benefit of pedestrians, cyclists and/or equestrians.

All entries will be reviewed by an independent judging panel who will take into consideration factors including value for money, quality of design and construction, innovation, appearance and benefits to the community. The extended deadline for entries was 13 March 2020.

The winners will be announced on 7 September, 2022 during Footbridge Madrid, which takes place at COAM, the headquarters of the Madrid Architects' Association (7-9  September, 2022). Please note that the conference has been postponed previously a number of times.

We look forward to seeing you at Footbridge Awards.


José María Sánchez de Muniáin

Editor, Bridge design & engineering